Favorite Books of 2016!

Hello guys! It’s still 2016 when I was writing this so it technically is fit for 2016 favorites! I pushed it to the last day because I wanted to widen it up a bit, in case I read something I love so that it would be included in this.

I feel like 2016 has been a very tricky year for reading. I knew that I’m not going to be able to read a lot so I made my reading goal very realistic. From 50 last 2015, I made it 35. I achieved that and exceeded it by two more which I’m proud of because this year has not been the nicest but I managed to meet my goals.

Even though I only read 37, I think I made pretty good choices of reading materials because from that narrow selection, I have so many favorites, not just for this year, but in my all time favorites list.

So if you want to see them go ahead and read on!

This is in no ranking whatsoever in this except the one book which really stood out this year for me. The order is based on which one I read first this year since I’m referring to the goodreads list of my reading challenge. (Except again on the book that stood out best, that would be in the last part)

I didn’t include the synopsis of these books here because it would elongate the post than it already is when I’m sure that you would goodreads it anyways. So just throwing that out there. Plus, most of them are pretty much popular so you’ve heard about them some way or another.

1. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

I was hesitant to put this here because immediately after reading it, I was scared and annoyed at the same time. And I couldn’t stop thinking about it for days. If you have read this, you would know. It’s one of those books that you don’t wanna know too much about because, if you think too much your brain might spoil it for you. I loved it even when it’s got me confused and scratching my head because that was the intention of the author for the readers to feel and she was so effective at doing it. The writing style is on point, the story is fabulous and the chills are definitely there.

2. November 9 by Colleen Hoover

If I had to narrow it down to top 5, this would still be included here. I’ve read it in February and I have already reread it twice. I’ve read every Colleen Hoover book and this by far is my favorite of them all. And that’s saying a lot because I love almost all of her books. Everything about this book just invites me in. The story, the characters, the timeline. It’s so freaking good. It’s sweet but not cutesy. Just a good balance of rom-drama-com. If someone asks me about which Colleen Hoover book to read, I always point to November 9. This book is in my all time favorites.

3.  The Sweetest Spell by Suzanne Selfors

This is an underrated book by an underrated author. This is a standalone fantasy book. And that is pretty much what made it stand out for me.  We don’t get a lot of that since it’s super hard to do because it just leaves a lot of holes in the plot. And that’s not case with this book. I love it because it was so easy to read. Usually, fantasy novels are harder to get into because of the world building. But with this book, I never felt that nor was I unsatisfied despite it being a short book. Another reason I love it is it took me by surprise, I expected it to be a mediocre read and it proved me wrong. I love it.

4. Red Rising trilogy by Pierce Brown

No doubt or shame about it, this series made it to my all time faves with the first book. It was a little slow at first but after that little moment right there, it’s just full throttle all the way to the third book. I know I love love love  fantasy but I didn’t know that I could love sci-fi as much. This book just ignited the sci-fi and space books in me. And for those who doesn’t like too much romance, this is for you. The world was just too complex to focus on the love aspect of the story. And I, the hopeless romantic hearts and flowers kinda gal, am more than fine with it. The characters are unpredictable, the story is smart and the scenes are bad ass, it literally makes me jump around my room and gasp aloud whenever I finish a book in this series. You have to read it, trust me. This series is nuts and I’m just sold. ONE OF MY ALL TIME FAVORITES.

5. Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare

I know this is a novella or something but I loved it. I loved seeing more of Simon as he enters the Shadowhunter world and the other characters because I missed them, I fell in love with new characters as well. But the main reason I love this book is just that it glues every plot line of the world together and we discover A LOT about the previous stories plus it hints more or less a big part of the upcoming books of the following two shadowhunter series. And more Simon. If you are a fan of the shadowhunter world, you should really read this, ideally before Lady Midnight.

6. Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

I love how plot driven this book is. I love that we skipped right into the story rather than explaining everything all over again because we already know how everything works.It feels familiar but it isn’t at the same time, you know? The signature tragedies are there, the heart wrenching moments and the ones to make you laugh-cry and the ones where you feel all fluttery. Cassandra Clare is just  an expert in defying impossible odds. I am so excited for how things are gonna turn out because as a reader, it looks like an impasse to me but of course it isn’t. I just want to see how Cassandra is gonna work with the situations she created. I  am super hyped for Lord of Shadows.

7-8 Illuminae and Gemina by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

I cannot contain my love for this series. I WOULD NOT TIRE OF RECOMMENDING IT TO ANYONE, TO EVERYONE, TO WHOMEVER.  I love it so much. And in case, you’re asking, yes it’s in my all time favorites. This series is one of the coolest books to have ever. I have not read anything like it from the story to the actual story telling. Although I have to admit that I love Illuminae more than Gemina but that’s just me. And besides, I love Gemina too. It’s so cool and kick ass and funny and smart and creepy. AND DAMN THE AESTHETICS OF THE BOOKS, IT ALMOST FEELS LIKE I’M WATCHING A MOVIE. THE ILLUSTRATIONS ARE INSANE! I LOVE IT SO SO MUCH. Although, if the story is narrated in a normal way, the story would still be awesome in itself but with illustrations, HOT DEYM. IT’S TOO GOOD. This series came close to being my ultimate favorite of the year, that’s how much I adore this series. Out of all the books I have in here, the third book in this series is the one I’m most excited about to come out in 2017.

9. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

This book just broke me. There’s really not much to say about it aside from that it’s the kind of emotional trauma you want in your life. The story just hits you deep. I love that it shows how real and human the characters were. Being set in a war, you will be able to observe how different everything could be in a matter of seconds. I think it’s an important book to read for everyone but especially for us who are fortunately not involved in the war in other nations because it creates a new perspective that I think we should all be aware of. It’s one of those books that you know left an impact on you, the kind that leaves a lasting impression on the readers, the one that moves people. Behind the snot and tears, I give this book 5/5 stars.

10. Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

Another CoHo book isn’t surprising to be honest. The woman writes mean novels! I can’t help but fall in love with them. November 9 is my favorite but I also love Maybe Someday a whole lot. It’s just the right mixture of heartbreakingly sad and head-over-heels in love. I love the concept, I love the irony in the book and the MUSIC! GOSH! The music played a big part for me, really. I was having LSS with the song I’m In Trouble for 3 days straight after hearing it. I just love this book so much.

PS: Some of you may be wondering if I’m putting It Ends With Us. I won’t because every time I read it, it breaks my heart for “THAT” character when I know it shouldn’t. Before I read it, I came in with a mindset wanting a feel good story and that isn’t exactly what I got. I was not disappointed, I loved it, I think it’s very important, but I sort of wanted a happy ending for everyone but I also know that that would ruin the essence of the whole story. So there..

11. I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

The story is so simple, now that I think of it, but it feels a thousand more times significant. The characters are so fragile and relatable and you just cant help but feel the feels for the both of their experiences. And of course, the art… If you don’t know I’m such a sucker for art things especially when it has a significant emotional value whatsoever. It was so easy to read and heartfelt and just gives warm feels all over.

12. Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

Are you really that surprised? Of course we got to have some good ol’ Mama Maas in here! I have to admit I loved Queen of Shadows better than EoS but that doesn’t mean this book isn’t fantastic as SH**. In the 3rd book of the series (Heir of Fire), different plot lines are introduced, in the 4th one (Queen of Shadows), the characters’ plots meet, but MAN… In this one, they don’t just meet. They collided with each other and we can now see where everyone is gonna go. I am so disappointed with myself that I read this so fast because now I have to wait an entire year again for the next one but oh my God, the wait is so worth it when it releases. Because that’s just how it is with Sarah Maas books, you know? They are worth everything, the hype and the money. Throne of Glass Series is my current ALL TIME FAVORITE. It has yet to be dethroned. And I have read so many good books in my life. I want the next book ASAP but also don’t want it because the next is the last one and I don’t want it to end ever.

And now, for my favorite book of 2016…

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

*Speechless for about 2 minutes straight* I don’t know what to say… It’s just so good. It’s perfect. It’s everything. And I’ve been seeing a lot of favorite posts and ACOMAF is always in there and I can’t help but I agree because MAN…

I know that I’ve said before that Morning Star by Pierce Brown is best read so far and I’ve read ACOMAF before that. But I’ve reread this book so many times I can’t even recall and it just gets better and better and better every time.

I love the new characters, the old ones, except for some few… And the dynamic between them. I love the exploration of this new world and a whole new perspective to the whole book itself. I was super ecstatic that it took the turn it took, does that make sense? ACOTAR was super great, mind you, but ACOMAF just went a hundred notches up. I mean, this series could easily outrank Throne of Glass series in my all time favorite spot but not yet… not until I read the third book. Sarah Maas is basically just monopolizing my all time favorites list.

 

 

SO THAT’S IT FOR MY FAVORITE BOOKS OF 2016 GUYS! I hope you saw your favorites in this list as well and if not comment them down below. Here’s to a prosperous new year to everyone! Let’s all start the year right by reading the best books! Bye and Share the feels!

 

Leave a Reply

