Mid-Year Book Freak Tag!!!

COOL YOURSELF DOWN. I know that it’s not in anyway still mid-year. But in my dictionary we don’t get halfway through till the BER months. So in a way, I’m early here!

Anyway, special thanks to Joey of thoughts and afterthoughts for tagging me even though I just opened my blog today after 2 months of hibernation. Check his blog out, guys, cool stuff. Seriously, cool stuff!

So let’s begin…

Let me just clear this up. If I put a book in here, it just means that I have read it in 2016 and not necessarily released in 2016, okay?

1. Best book read in 2016 so far?

I’m breaking the rules here because I’m choosing more than one but Red Rising Trilogy by Pierce Brown is owning the cake so far. I love this series. I just didn’t expect it to be that good of a series to be honest but now it’s one of my fave series of all time. But this trilogy, on being my best read ties with…

2. Best sequel read in 2016 so far?

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas. I really would place it there in the first question but then I saw this second one and decided not to be repetitive with my answers. I have unbelievably high expectation for this book before it was even out because… THE HYPE and SARAH J MAAS. And the funny thing, it was beyond what I expected.

3. New releases you haven’t read, but want to:

HARRY FREAKING POTTER  AND THE CURSED CHILD by JK Rowling.  I don’t even need to explain. Another one that I’m itching to get my hands to is It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover. Like ACOMAF, I have high expectations on this one. And so far all I hear are sobs of approval. That’s messed up but also a very good thing.

4. Most anticipated releases for second half of the year?

Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas because this series (Throne of Glass) just reached the super human status on my book. The last book, Queen of Shadows, still makes me feel all the amazing feels and it was my best 2015 read.

5. Biggest disappointment?

If you’re a fan of The Selection Series, I’m warning you, this might hurt. The Crown by Kiera Cass. I started having an issue with this series on the second book (The Elite) and then I even liked the 3rd book and then I just find The Heir barely tolerable but The Crown was the biggest let down of all the 5 books in there.

6. Biggest surprise?

Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire. All I had in mind when I was reading it is that it’s a Twilight fan fiction and I didn’t think it would be a remarkable book for me. But surprisingly I enjoyed the messed up dynamic between the characters! And bonus points for not having a detailed sex scenes!

7. Favorite new author (debut or new to you)?

Jennifer L. Armentrout! I have always wanted to read her works and this year I finally did! I’ve read Lux, which is a 5 book series, within 6 days! I just love the her characters. And her books are so easy to read and get into.

8. Newest Fictional Crush

Benton James Kesler from November 9. I mean, dear holiness. I love everything about this dude! I love his sense of humor. I love his attitude! I fell in love with his flaws. I love him and his dynamic with Fallon and the book and the author. I just can’t help but fangirl over Ben so much and November 9. I recommend it to every single soul.

9. Newest favorite character?

I can’t just choose one I’m sorry. Julian Blackthorne from Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare and Darrow from Red Rising Trilogy by Pierce Brown. Julian and his story just squeezes my heart out. His character is very beautifully flawed by the author and I love Julian with the good and the bad and the ugly. Darrow on the other hand is a mind blowing character. Like a male Celaena Sardothien. Very smart, always has a back up plan, and not to be messed with but very much like a normal human being with their conscience. Darrow is simply just a work of art. The kind that you just idolize almost. Genius to be precise. I can’t explain it, you just have to read it for yourself

10. Book that made you cry?

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini. Major ugly sobfest is what happened here. I’m surprised because this book is not usually my cup of tea but I love it even though it scarred me forever. It’s emotionally traumatizing but in a good way…. Have you ever watched Hachiko? Well, kind of like that in emotional trauma. Would I read another Khaled Hosseini book? No, if it’s as sad as this one.

11. Book that made you happy?

Me, Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews. I just LOLed all through out the book. And I had a smile on my face when I’m not laughing. Just a light fun read all in all.

12. Most beautiful book you’ve bought (or received) so far this year?

Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman! I love everything about this book from the cover, aesthetics, the story telling to the actual story. It’s beautiful inside out. Sometimes I just stare at it on my shelf and sigh the sigh of a proud book momma.

So that’s it guys! I enjoyed doing this tag so much especially after a long absence! I would love to hear your thoughts on them and your own answers cause I’m sure they’ll be awesome. That said, I tag everyone that ever wants to do this tag… IN AUGUST! but who cares, right?

Share the feels!

3 thoughts on “Mid-Year Book Freak Tag!!!

Leave a Reply

