The Coffee Book Tag

Hello! It’s been a while since I did a tag! And to be honest, no one ever did tag me then, so does with this tag. But who cares? It seemed fun so I’m gonna do it. I saw this tag at Youtube at Jessethereader’s channel go ahead and check that out. He’s super amazing!

So coffee… I LOVE COFFEE. Black, iced, latte, macchiato, frappe, intant, with cream, with sugar. You name it. Aside from it tastes really good, it has been my constant companion through thick froth and thin froth of my sorry ass life, from prelims to finals, coffee my love had been there.

I am super sad though that these past 2 months, I decided not to drink coffee because I’m flushing out of my system caffeine while I’m on my summer vacation. I did this because I drank coffee so much last semester that my sweat and pee started to smell like coffee and I know I had to quit for a while. And that 2 months abstinence from the magical substance given by God has made me a craving for answering coffee related book questions. Let’s start!

  1. Black: Name a series that’s tough to get into but has hardcore fans.

Red Rising Series by Pierce Brown definitely takes this spot. I had a couple of issues on the beginning of the 1st book but I pushed through it because the fandom is insane! A lot of my favorite booktubers like Tashapolis and Katytastic has been babbling good things about it so I trusted their judgment and now I know what’s the hype all about! I love it! I have a discussion for both Red Rising and Golden Son so you may check that out.

  1. Peppermint mocha: Name a book that gets more popular during the winter or a festive time of year.

Let It Snow by Maureen Johnson, John Green and Lauren Myracle. Well, the title says it all. Originally, I would say My True Love Gave to Me by 12 different authors, but I haven’t read that yet so I went to Let It Snow which equally becomes as popular during the holiday seasons.I remember reading this book on Christmas break too and it gave me warm gooey feels!

  1. Hot chocolate: What is your favorite children’s book?

Obviously, this goes to Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling. Come on, this book is legend, the title speaks for itself. Although I didn’t read this book as a kid, it kept aflame my inner child. I have so much love for Harry and this world. SO MUCH LOVE.

  1. Double shot of espresso: Name a book that kept you on the edge of your seat from start to finish.

I would answer this question with full conviction and feelings. QUEEN OF SHADOWS by Sarah J. Maas. I don’t know if you heard me, but I babble about this book every 2 seconds it seems. I finished this book on a school day with a bajillion academic books to read and I just went through 600+ pages in one sitting. I abandoned being a student for this book. And mind you, I never do that, responsible human being that I am. This book just topped every goddamn expectation I have for this series from chapter to chapter. I am obsessed with this book. It’s one of my favorite series of all time and it’s my overall favorite book of 2015.

  1. Starbucks: Name a book you see everywhere.

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green seems to have it’s eyes on me. It doesn’t matter if it’s the original cover or the movie tie-in, it follows me from bookstore to bookstore. The funny thing is, when I was looking for it, all the bookstores I come to are out of stock, either that or they’re sold as a set together with other John Green books which I already have. I spent 3 months hunting this book and nothing! Though I am lucky to have a friend who gave me her copy for Christmas! And then just a month or 2 after Christmas, every bookstore was over flowing with TFIOS.

  1. That hipster coffee shop: Give a book by an indie author a shout out.

I don’t know a lot of Indie authors so I’ll go with Keira Cass. Before The Selection was out she wrote and self published The Siren but I think it’s now published under the same publishing house as The Selection and they gave it a new nice cover too.

  1. Oops! I accidentally got decaf: Name a book you were expecting more from.

This sadly goes to Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard *waits for violent reactions*. I know a lot of people who likes this series, friends who like this book. I thought I liked it too, at first. And then as I was writing about it, I noticed that it was more of a just-fine bordering on annoying than an IM-SUPER-AMAZED book. I kind of guessed what was the big turning point and I didn’t like that I guessed what it was going to be but it’s not like it’s a subtle hint. The book practically screams at you how it’s going to end. And I didn’t like that.

  1. The perfect blend: Name a book or series that was both bitter and sweet but ultimately satisfying.

Oh this book I had a hard time choosing. I have read so many satisfying books but it has to be Winter by Marissa Meyer. That 800 pages of ups and downs all the while seating us in a crazy rollercoaster gave this book the perfect blend of tragedy and comedy. It wrapped up all things from  the series very beautifully and there were no loose ends or whatsoever. It was satisfying to the very core. Just a happily ever after.

So that’s the Coffee book tag! I hoped you enjoyed it as much as I did and feel free to tag yourselves and do it! Bye and Share the feels!

3 thoughts on “The Coffee Book Tag

  1. Not That Girl From Oz says:

    Oh my gosh because I’m designing my wordpress idk if I’m gonna transfer my book reviews here from tumblr! Gah, and I am so doing this tag hahahah

Leave a Reply

