Let’s talk about: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

7896527After such a long time of sad and contemporary novels, Throne of Glass brought me back to life and awesomeness! Everything was so kick ass! The characters, the setting and even the villains! It cured me from all the sadness and emotions and all that replaced me is the spirit of adventure!

Everyone in the reading community is recommending this series. But now is the only time I am able to pick it up. And now is the perfect timing! This was one of the books I was embarrassed because I hadn’t read yet. Well, guess what? NOT ANYMORE. And now I know what all the fuss is about!

Throne of Glass is fast paced! I finished the whole thing in 3 days! And I have to go school and study, so that was fast. It was smart and action-packed. It pulls the reader to dive into the world. It wasn’t short but it makes you crave for more of that thrill. It was the first book in a long while that made me feel nervous (as in my heart’s pounding in my ribcage nervous) and excited for the character as if I was character itself.

Throne of Glass is about a dexterous young assassin named Celaena Sardothien, who was thrown into a death camp that is Endovier. After a year, the crown prince of Adarlan went to this death camp to summon Celaena to be his Champion. Celaena, wanting to escape Endovier, agreed to be the prince’s Champion not knowing that she must compete with other Champions to be the one and only. While training for the final battle, things happen unexpectedly. The crown prince started to put interest in her, as well as her trainer, and one by one each of the champions are getting murdered. Celaena now needs to find out who the murderer is before she becomes the next victim.

Discussion with spoiler:

Throne of Glass kind of reminds me of Lord of the Rings setting, I don’t know why, I didn’t actually read the book, just saw the movies but that’s how I imagined it to be. From Endovier to the fancy Rifthold. It was very magical and forest-y like.

Before I go into anything else, I just have to say this. Their names are mouthful and a tongue twister. Very difficult to pronounce! Celaena Sardothien,seriously? Chaol? How do you even say that! Well, my version is like chaos but instead of ‘s’ I put ‘l’ instead. I had a hard time remembering their names at first.

The first thing that I noticed was the characters’ personalities. The minute Celaena opened her mouth, I was like “Whoah! That’s what you call arrogance!” I just love Celaena! She’s awesome and she knows it. And expects everyone else to know it too. After all, she Celaena Sardo-freaking-thien, Adarlan’s greatest assasin! She’s not ashamed to be an assassin. I have to say this, Celaena is currently my most kickass female character. Sorry, Cinder.

I love her humor but I also love how at times she can be so deadly serious and so smart!  And really her sharp tongue is commendable.

I don’t know how I feel about Dorian. Seriously, I don’t. Sometimes I like him, sometimes I don’t. I don’t know if I like him more than Chaol. It’s just that he was never really there until the second half of the story, while Chaol had never left my attention. But he doesn’t even like to admit that he likes Celaena! But on the second book I hope he will. What I feel for this love triangle is so complicated. I’m happy when Dorian could make Chaol jealous but I’m also happy when there’s jealousy on Dorian’s part. I love the puppy, but I also love the amethyst ring. At this point, I’m not ready to choose teams.

While there’s so many cool characters in the story, I wish these people would die. Actually, some of them already did.

  • The King
  • Duke Perrington
  • Lady Kaltrain
  • Cain

I hate every single one those people. Let me elaborate. The King seriously has some mental issue going on. If he really likes Cain that much, why bother making a competition? And what’s the purpose of other kingdoms if they will conquer everything!? AND HE JUST GO TO WHEREVER HE LIKES. Duke Perrington is not only greedy but scary because he’s a perv. I honestly thought at first that he’s the one killing the Champions because I thought he has some cannibalistic/ animal instinct. Lady Kaltrain is the most annoying of them all. As if she’s a wifey material! She does opium, trying hard to be seductive and evil. No one of the right mind will marry her. Of course Perrington isn’t of a right mind! I GOT WANT I WANT WITH CAIN.

On the other hand, I adored Nehemia! Never have I doubted her. I knew she was an ally. And the only thing she kept from Celaena is her magical talent! All the Wyrd things goin on, (forgive the pun) has got something to do with her. And her staff! It kinda reminds me of Jem in TID.  The name that he gave her made me ” AWWWW”

I hope the next book would reveal some information about the fae stuff. How is Celaena connected to it? There’s one thing that Elena said about ties that made me think that Celaena and Dorian are somehow related. I ABSOLUTELY HOPE NOT. So this Elena girl, I like her, but she’s still hazy. Random Thought: All this portal and demon realm stuff are reminding me of Shadowhunting world.

Not all the champions is rotten. I liked Pelor, the poison kid. He really did well on the arrange the best and worst poison and I felt happy because everyone looks at him like an underdog. I liked Nox too. He was incredibly smart, and he actually listened to Celaena! So one less worry for her. I get Chaol that she shouldn’t show off so her opponents will underestimate her. But I also get Celaena that it isn’t bad to show who’s the boss once in a while. And it kind of defeats the purpose when your opponents actually know that you’re good and you’re holding back..

So, it’s really Cain, who was murdering everyone. It was actually brilliant of the author to make him the murderer because he was the obvious killer and being obvious would lead us thinking that he wasn’t the killer because that would be too easy. BUT HE IS. He just did it in a manner that makes him even more frightening

The secret passage was awesome but it made me wonder whether it was the only one in the castle. Maybe the tomb was neglected because Elena used to do magic?

I felt the intensity of the climax. My heart was pounding in my chest and she wasn’t even fighting Cain yet. I know that she could do it, defeat Cain. But I also know about the poison. And the thing hat infuriates me is that WHY IN THE WORLD WOULD YOU TRUST THE WINE IF IT WAS GIVEN BY KALTRAIN??? Come on, Celaena, smell it first! Don’t drink it! And when she did, I kind of imagined her taking big gulps and wiping her mouth with her hand and I was like “NOOOOOOO” I hate to say this, but the poison kind of had a good side to it. It showed her the in-between dimension going on so now she believes it fully in her heart. I didn’t think that there would be an intervention from Elena but I was cool with it. Chaol actually played the boxing coach here while Dorian is like Bob Arum watching Pacquiao get beaten. But they’re both helpless. And after the duel, that’s when Dorian got to play the hero. By that time, I feel like I’m gonna go with Dorian, but I’m still holding judgment especially when Chaol killed Cain. I mean, not that I don’t want Cain dead, BUT CHAOL JUST KILLED FOR CELAENA. To call the climax intense will be the understatement of the century.

So after the duel, all I wanted to happen was for Celaena or Nehemia to kill the King! It felt good that Dorian is standing up to his father. This reminds me Maxon to King Clarkson of The Selection. I hope the king ends up dead too. But I still want to see him full in blown argument with his dad. And the thing that angered me most is when he, the King, was ashamed that Dorian is a reader! Not a warrior! WHO DARES BELITTLE US READERS?! DORIAN IS SMART. SMARTER THAN HE SHOULD BE. AND DEFINITELY SMARTER THAN THE KING.

I was happy that she broke up with Dorian in the end, because I’m not ready for her to choose yet. I feel like attraction is  a big part of their relationship and I want Dorian to prove it more to Celaena that he loves her really, not just because she’s pretty. And I’m kind of excited who it is that Celaena will fall madly in love with. And I am really excited about what these missions are gonna be because she accepted the contract and all.

This story is a helluva novel!I recommend it to those who really wants action and fantasy. The way the characters are shown was wonderfully crafted and honed. The plot was amazing, you want to keep coming back for more. The way the author connects everything bit by bit is just teasing but guarantees full satisfaction and craving in the end. So if you want a sharp, witty, funny, kick ass novel in the fairy tale setting, Throne of Glass is your best read. You’ll only open and close it once, when you start, and when you finish.

Share the feels!

One thought on “Let’s talk about: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

